Tom Cave keeps the top spot

Tom Cave keeps the top spot

At the end of day two, Tom Cave has maintained his Rally Finland pole position ahead of current trophy leader Marius Aasen, closing the day 21.7 secs ahead of the driver from Norway.

All today’s stage wins were claimed by the top two drivers with Cave taking six and Aasen taking three. There were three unique winners in the opening three stages here in Rally Finland illustrating the competitive nature of the Drive DMACK Fiesta Trophy.

The second pass of Ouninpohja, the longest stage of the rally at 34.93km, was hotly contested with the gap between first and third position being only two seconds. Aasen took SS8 +1.2sec ahead of Cave and Finn Max Vatanen who followed in a further 0.8sec.

Cave takes the narrow lead overnight and will undoubtedly be pushed by Aasen in the morning as our crews face another challenging day here in Finland.

Tom Cave said: “It’s been a really good day and I’m definitely happy with our position and to take six stage wins as well is always a bonus. I think the key was the set up and anticipating the varying conditions we could have faced today. It’s good fun driving here in Finland; it suits my driving style. I’ll keep pushing tomorrow because I feel confident and I’m enjoying myself.”

Marius Aasen said: “It’s been a very good day for us. We set some good stage times and we’ll try to carry that speed into tomorrow also. I don’t think I have been pushing as hard as I can so there is definitely still more to give. There is still a long way to go and anything can happen so we will see.”

Max Vatanen said: “I’m proud to be here competing in my home rally again this year, and it’s so great to see all the people out on the stages supporting. We have had some minor issues through the day which has affected my confidence. On these fast roads you must be confident. The stages tomorrow are slightly narrower so will also be slower and probably more rutted.”

Top five at the end of day two

1. Tom Cave / Craig Parry 1h 28m 01.8s
2. Marius Aasen / Veronica Engan 1h 28m 23.5s
3. Max Vatanen / Jacques-Julien Renucci 1h 28m 56.3s
4. Ghislain de Mévius / Johan Jalet 1h 29m 57.8s
5. Kevin van Deijne / Hein Verschuuren 1h 33m 59.2s


Tom Cave keeps the top spot
Note: Cookies are used on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies.
You can find out more about the cookies used on this site in our privacy page.